Spring Studio Series, Laura Ann Samuelson: to get under, you have to lose

In the age of the 2020 pandemic, Harper Joy, along with theaters across the nation and globe, were called to cancel the remainder of their spring seasons for the sake of public health. 

The HJT 2020 Spring Studio Series was originally scheduled to premiere four new works of various dance artists within the walls of the Freimann Theatre. Fortunately, even under quarantine conditions, it was able to be preserved and adapted for viewers at home to engage with and enjoy. Below, please enjoy the first work of the series, To get under, you have to lose by Laura Ann Samuelson along with a discussion about her work in a following link.
to get under, you have to lose

To view discussion in link below, use Password: SSSSamuelsonTalk


Laura Ann Samuelson is a choreographer and visual artist working in contemporary performance. Their work follows the transmission of feeling across objects, sites, and bodies, searching for new strategies to help us bear impermanence, attachments to living, and to one another. Laura Ann’s projects have been presented in Colorado, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, California, Germany, Sweden, and France, and they have been an artist-in-residence at the Denver Art Museum, Dance Initiative, Skogen Arts Sweden, and the Colorado Conservatory of Dance. They currently collaborates with Ondine Geary, and has worked extensively with Colorado-based performance groups such as Joanna and the Agitators, Square Product Theatre, as well as Buntport Theater Company, and Screw Tooth Theater Company. In 2014,  Laura Ann was named one of Colorado’s most creative minds in Susan Froyd’s 100 Colorado Creatives Series in Denver’s Westword.
Laura Ann is a performer in Guggenheim-Award winner Michelle Ellsworth’s POST-VERBAL SOCIAL NETWORK, and is currently pursuing an MFA in Dance at CU-Boulder.
Stay tuned for the next three posts with works of dance artists Julie Mayo, Tia Kramer, Moonyeka and Nic Masangkay. UPDATE: Stay tuned for the works of Moonyeka Masangkay and Julie Mayo.