The Whitman College AAUP Chapter is an advocacy chapter that promotes the discussion of and, where appropriate, takes action on matters relevant to the AAUP’s mission. The AAUP’s mission is “to advance academic freedom and shared governance; to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education; to promote the economic security of faculty, academic professionals, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and all those engaged in teaching and research in higher education; to help the higher education community organize to make our goals a reality; and to ensure higher education’s contribution to the common good” (www.aaup.org).

For 2017-2018, the President of the chapter is Associate Professor Andrea Dobson (Astronomy), the Vice President is Paul Garrett Professor of Political Science Shampa Biswas (Politics), and the Secretary-Treasurer is Professor Timothy Kaufman-Osborn (Politics). New AAUP members who wish to join the chapter’s CLEo e-mail distribution list and gain access to its CLEo site should contact the Secretary-Treasurer at kaufmatv@whitman.edu.

Joining the AAUP is easy (go to www.aaup.org/membership/join), and there is a sliding dues scale based on academic income. The AAUP website delineates benefits of membership over and above participation in the local chapter’s activities (see https://www.aaup.org/membership/benefits).